Baby Sprinkles

Just recently, we had a baby shower for my niece. She has just 5 weeks to go and we are now on the count down. Very exciting! What I really like is that we don’t know whether it’s a boy or girl. We are in for a surprise – Yay!! There are not too many true surprises left in the world these days but this is one you can have. It’s just great.

This means it can be a little tricky with colour schemes and patterns when designing and creating for a little bubba. It’s out with the general rule “pink for girls and blue for boys” instead finding neutral ideas and colour requires some careful thought. There are so many cute designs in the Sweet Li’l Things Designer Series Paper pack – which is Stampin’ Up! baby patterned paper – including some neutral options too.

I was really pleased to see the Global Design Projects – theme challenge for this week is Babies! (#GDP003). It was a perfect match up to play along this week, with my recent creations.

GDP_Theme_Baby

I’ve been following these guys since they started just a short three weeks ago, and I have been enjoying the inspiration they have been creating. I was introduced to them by my stamping friend Jessica Williams, who is on their design team.

I am never one to shy away from a challenge so I jumped right in, not just with a card but a cute matching little door hanger for the nursey too. Here are my finished creations…

RosePacker15-27a

Having seen ideas on Pintrest early on using the Sprinkles of Life stamp set, I knew one day I had to try some of them out. This stamp set and coordinating Tree punch are just so versatile, which I’ve raved about before.

RosePacker15-27b

I love punch art, I just don’t create using this style often, as I have so many favourite stamps to use – seriously how to do you choose! But here on the card, I focussed on using the Tree punch and replicating an idea I had seen previously. I teamed it up with the Sweet Li’l Things Designer Series Paper, opting to use one of the neutral designs and colours. Whilst I mainly used the Mint Macaron and Hello Honey colour theme, I couldn’t help but add a splash of Watermelon Wonder, it just gave that little pop the project needed. (If I knew she was having a girl, my choice would be the Strawberry designed paper in that pack – I just love it! And my niece was an ol’ Strawberry Shortcake fan when we were kids!)

RosePacker15-27c

The door hanger followed along in theme. I love how the clouds are the same stamps you can use for cupcakes and ice creams. Stampin’ Up! are really clever with designs like that.

I used several sheets of cardstock stuck together to add some strength, punching the hole for the door knob at each layer. I used the patterned paper as a wrap around to hold two of the base cardstock sheets together. With one final backing piece on the outside to neaten it all up plus and lots of Tear and Tape to hold it all together!

I had so much fun putting these together and my niece was quite chuffed when she received it. Now to wait to find out if I have a new niece or nephew!!

Until next time, Stamp creatively…
Rose.

12 thoughts on “Baby Sprinkles

  1. Yay! Was so excited to see your name pop up Rose! Awesome projects. I especially like the door hanger. A total must have with a new baby in the house. Make sure your neicee knows it can also be used on the outside of the house too! Thanks for joining in with us at GDP!

    Like

  2. So sweet! I love the door hanger – so many beautiful elements! Thank you for playing along with this week’s Global Design Project theme challenge!

    Like

  3. Rose, these projects are just beautiful. I love the door hanger too, it is such a great idea! The Sprinkles of Life set and punch were perfect for this project! Thanks for playing at Global Design Project this week ♥

    Like

  4. Hi Rose! What a fabulous idea to create a door hanger! The card is pretty cute too. It is exciting to have this kind of surprise, I do agree! Thank you so much for playing along to the Global Design Project this week. Louise xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

