Hello water colouring

Water colour style backgrounds have been splashed in various projects all over social media in recent months. I love what they look like and I like some of the effects that have been created. The thing I’ve noticed about water colouring is how, generally, you get different effects every time you create. Very rarely do you see the exact same background twice.

I wanted to try it again. It has been such a long time since I picked up my Aqua painters or blender pens for that matter, I must admit I was a little nervous. I played and practised a little to get into the swing of it and a couple of tries in I was feeling much more confident. It’s a bit like putting on your favourite slippers for the first time after the summer.

Here is my card.

Rose Packer Creative Roses Party Pop Up thinlit water colouring

I created the water colour wash background using aqua painters and some Bermuda Bay reinker. I diluted the ink until I was happy with the shade and just painted away on some Shimmery White cardstock. The thickness of the shimmery cardstock holds up under the volume of water in this technique. It also adds a lovely shimmer to your project. I added some extra splashes of Bermuda Bay in a darker shade for some depth of colour.

Off the back of my last post, I revisited my Part Pop-Up thinlit dies and featured the Happy Birthday one as a decorative element on my card front. Loving the versatility with these dies.

Finished off with some washi tape, metalic foil doilies and a touch of Gold dazzling details for the flames. I must admit, I’m a little hooked now. I’m sure you’ll be seeing more watercolouring coming up again soon.

TCTC 9

CYCI110-232x300The colour combination used here is the current challenge over at The Colour Tree Challenges TCTC#9 and the design is my take on the current sketch challenge over at Can You Case It? CYCI#110 – two of my favourite creative challenge teams to play along with. Hope they like my entry this week!

 

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
Rose

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

designteampick-001-300x300

Update – 15 March: So pleased my creation was chosen as a top pick over at Can You Case It? Challenge #110 this week. Here is what Rochelle had to say:  A modern take on this weeks sketch. Love the bright watercolour wash background and then the bold black ‘Happy Birthday’ in front. Really makes it stand out!
Thanks heaps team!

 

What I used to the make this:

6 thoughts on “Hello water colouring

  1. I love the combination of the two challenges that you have used as a springboard for your card design. It is just gorgeous. Thanks for playing along at The Colour Tree.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

