Hello Foxy – CYCI #128

Welcome to another week of inspiration from the Can You Case It? team. Have you checked out the talented bunch of crafters over there yet? Better still, have you played along with our challenges yet?

This week we have a Sketch Challenge [CYCI #128].

CYCI-128_0708

What I like about a Sketch is sometimes you can get stuck with how to place your elements on your project. A sketch helps take away the design block, leaving you with the hardest decision of all… Which stamp set to use! LOL!

Today, I’ve been playing with the Foxy Friends stamp set. Check out the cute little card I made for my nephew who birthday was last week.

Rose Packer Creative Roses Stampin' Up! Foxy Friends

This was my first play with this stamp set. It has so many cute little critters to play with Mr Foxy, I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of these guys real soon. The suite also has a coordinating punch so you can add to Mr Foxy’s circle of friends pretty easily too.

I’ve created backgrounds on cards before. It’s such a great way to customise your project when you don’t quite have the right paper. When creating backgrounds, you can create a scattered effect by stamping randomly and fitting your stamps in amongst each other. However today, I went for a structured look with numbers. To achieve this type of look, a slow steady approach and grid structure helps.

RosePacker16-37b

First, I lined up my paper so that my stamped images would be on a straight line. I used my ruler on a grid line to help create a visual of a line across my page and then stamped my numbers one at a time. I started with the 6, as that’s the age I wanted to highlight, and filled in the rest.

How did I make this?

  • My card base is A6 size (148mm x 210mm – folded in half). The colour is Bermuda Bay.
  • Layering panel is 100mm x 142mm in Pool Party.
  • The white panel is 95mm x 110mm in Whisper White.
  • I created my numbers background by stamping as described above. The colour of the 6 is Bermuda Bay and the others are Pool Party.
  • I stuck my white background card onto my Pool Party layer, lining it up around the bottom, leaving a larger gap at the top.
  • I stamped my birthday sentiment in the gap. The colour is Bermuda Bay.
  • Adding some Bermuda Bay thick bakers twine around the top of the White panel, I then stuck this layer to my base card.
  • Next I created Mr Foxy. I stamped him on some scrap Whisper White cardstock. The colour is Pumpkin Pie.
  • I added his nose, eyes and legs in Memento Black. Then I hand cut him out.
  • I punched a 4.4cm circle from Bermuda Bay cardstock and stuck on Mr Foxy.
  • Using dimensionals, I adhered him on to my card, fitting him in with the sentiment.
  • Lastly, I punched a number 6 and stuck that over the top of my stamped number 6 with some dimensionals. The colour is Pumpkin Pie.

Playing along with CYCI challenges is easy. Once you’ve create your project, publish it to a blog, Facebook (make sure your settings are public tho), Pintrest or other social media streams. Visit the CYCI website and link your project to the challenge using the InLinkz button. I can wait to see what you create!

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
Rose
What I used to make this:

Number Of Years Photopolymer Bundle

Number Of Years Photopolymer Bundle
[140811]

9 thoughts on “Hello Foxy – CYCI #128

Leave a Reply

