Happy Lunar new year

Living in the western suburbs of Melbourne (Australia) means a large multi-cultural community. We have so many different cultures present and it’s really interesting to learn about, see and be part of the different celebrations that happen as part of them.

A large portion of our local community is from Asia meaning last weekend has been full of bright, vibrant celebrations as we welcomed in the Lunar New Year. I feel a bit lucky as we seem to have a month long celebrations, first with our Christmas and new year, then with the New Lunar year now to take us into the new school year. January is certainly isn’t a dull month.

To celebrate, my neighbours either side of us received these cards. Here I have made cards using the Lucky Elephant stamp in the Occasions catalogue. Whilst it might be the Year of the Rooster, a lucky elephant is still good Feng Shui.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up! Lucky Elephant

I heat embossed him in Gold and featured him on Real Red cardstock – very traditional colours in Asian culture. I used a retired “happy new year” stamp I had, for the sentiment.

I decided to add some bling in the form of ribbon, sequence and threads all in gold to compliment the red. I really do like that Sale-a-bration ribbon used as a base here. It comes as a two pack (gold and silver) and it’s free when you spend $90 or more on regular products. Sale-a-bration runs until March 30, feel free to shop online or contact me for more information.

rosepacker_17-06b

The little tag on top is made up from two separate stamps from the Birthday Bright stamp set. It’s a Photopolymer set which means they are a little bendy. Here I positioned two stamps together on my block and only used two of the three words. Such a handy little trick I’ve used many times.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up! Lucky Elephant

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
rosepacker-signoff

What I used to make this:

Leave a Reply

