Sketch Challenge – CYCI#155

Here we are back with Can You Case It? and another sketch challenge by Eva Bussom. Check it out.

CYCI#155_300417

I really like sketch challenges and here is what I came up with using this sketch.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!

The base card stock is Mint Macaron, it’s a retiring InColour and one of my favourites so I’m sure I’ll be using this colour until the very end. Then it will live in my collection, which I will use for specials.

I did some water colouring with aqua painters on top and as I was playing with blending a couple of colours, I knew this meant I would use a lot of water. So I used water colour paper, which is much thicker and textured which holds up well when lots of water is applied. It has a vanilla colour to it, not white as well.

Here I blended three of the berry colours in our range – Rich Razzleberry, Sweet Sugarplum and the new Berry Burst coming in the 2017-18 Annual Catalogue. I love how it turned out.

Water colouring is one of those technique where you get a different result each time to do it. There is no right or wrong really – just fun play time. Make a palette with your ink pad by simply squishing it together before opening it. This will transfer some ink to the lid. Open your pad and add a drop or two of water from your aqua painter. Mix it together to water it down and then paint away. Now and then give you painter a squeeze to release some water onto your project. This will give it that lovely watery look. Allow it to dry a little and add a different colour.

Once it dried completely, you can add some more colour, this will layer it up nicely. Or you can choose to finish off your project.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!

I have finished off my project by adding a Mint paper doily and in the centre I have added a punch circle of Berry Burst cardstock to complement. Over the top is more Mint Macaron cardstock with flag ends. Then I have finished off with a sentiment from Banners and Badges stamp set in Berry Burst ink on some Very Vanilla ink. Which was punched out with the coordinating Duet Banner punch.

I liked this sentiment as we are saying a little hello here to a new colour!

I can’t wait to see what you create using this sketch. Why not pop over to the Facebook Challenge group page, take a look at more ideas from our Design team. Load up your creation by next Saturday, May 6th at Midday (AEST).

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,

rosepacker-signoff

What I used to make this:

Leave a Reply

