Is it a bottle? Is it a balloon?

Just a quick little share for today, I saw a few crafters post this idea and I just loved it.

So when we had a big a birthday celebration come up within our family friends, I knew this would suit her perfectly. Ok so I may have coordinated this card to match in with the gift but it was perfect none the less.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, Up and Away thinlits

I love the drama black creates and it coordinates so well with Copper foil, so that’s where I started. I made my perfume atomiser first, punching the intricate balloon from basic black cardstock and layering behind with copper foil, I love how the Up and Away thinlit die set has the die pieces to punch out the shapes needed to “colour” in the balloon – so very clever.

I stamped the smaller balloon with black Archival ink and made a tassel from solid black twine for the handle. I set those aside and moved onto the rest of the card.

I went for a square card this time (125mm), the shape just seemed to suit. I was able to work out the size of the inner square panels from my perfume bottle elements. I embossed the background with the Large Polka Dots embossing folder – sadly retiring tonight…

I cut a square panel from copper foil (95mm) and a whisper white layer piece (90mm). I tend to layer my pieces together to get a rough idea of how it’s going to come together before I permanently adhere anything in place. This worked really well for this design, as it allowed me to work out where the perfume elements will go and what white space was left.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, Up and Away thinlits

I masked off triangle with post-it notes and used the spray paint splatter stamp from the Touches of Texture stamp set and Sahara Sand ink to create the perfume mist. I stamped a 40 in the top left corner, also in Sahara Sand ink.

At this point I began assembling my card, the whisper white panel to the copper foil (I like to use Liquid glue for this as I know it will stick to the shiny surface of the foil), then attached that layer to the base card with dimensionals.

I used dimensionals to adhere my hot air balloons, oops I mean perfume bottle, and then a few strategically placed glue dots to hold the tassel handle in place.

A simple happy birthday sentiment (this one is from the Party with Cake stamp set), placed in the bottom right to balance with the large 40, worked well.

So glad most of these products will be carrying over, I look forward to blending in my catalogue toys with these great ones.

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
rosepacker-signoff
What I used to make this:

Leave a Reply

