Wood Textures thank you

This week, I needed to make a Thank You card and to make things extra challenging, this was to go to a guy. Birthday cards for guys are challenging enough, but a thank you card….

Drawing inspiration from page 94 of the Annual Catalogue. It’s the Fresh Florals Suites. Now I know what you’re thinking… Florals for a guy?!

Annual17_p094a

It’s from the Love and Sympathy section of the catalogue, which is showbased by the CASE-ing The Catty team this week.

ctc_fan1

I used the design from the Berry Burst card in the top right as a basic sketch. What first caught my eye on this card was the sentiment, it was just right for the purpose of this card. I then set about adapting this design to fit my guy theme.

Here is what I came up with.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, Wood Textures, Floral Phrases, Birthday Blossom

My card base is Early Espresso cardstock and I used one of the Wood Textures paper stack designs as my layering piece. The punched elements use the Lots of Label framelits. Here, I have punched the background layer from Old Olive cardstock in a smaller frame, and a larger one in Whisper White.

I punched these first, then set about finding a replacement for the floral image. I decided on the leaves from the Birthday Blossoms stamp set. They have that lovely artistic brushstroke look. I stamped two on the base in Old Olive ink and another one on some scrap. I also stamped two more on scrap in Garden Green ink. I fussy cut the stamped images from the scrap cardstock and arranged them over the images stamped directly onto the Label shape.

I cut the Olive label in half and cut the stamped White label down to the size that worked. Adhered the Olive half behind the white and adhered both to the cardbase.

I created the sentiment by stamping it in Old Olive ink to match and trimming down the Whisper White cardstock to a line strip and added in flags to both ends. I layered this onto a shorter flag strip from Early Espresso cardstock.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, Wood Textures, Floral Phrases, Birthday Blossom

At this point, I decided to vary from the design, leaving off the additional ribbon layered beneath the sentiment and the white layer of the label. Just opting to include the bottom half of the Olive label and then popped the sentiment over the top.

I finished off the card with some copper trim – okay, I know it’s a bow, but I think it still works. I just love how the shape of the trim works to make the bow sit flat. It’s looks really nice and still manly!

I stamped a coordinating envelope to match to finish it off.

I hope this project inspires you for your next manly project!

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
rosepacker-signoff

What I used to make this:

Leave a Reply

