CTC139 – Everyday Occasions

CTC-BlogBanner

Here we are back at the Everyday Occasions section of the Annual Catalogue. Welcome if you are starting here with me or if you are joining me from the lovely and talented Julia Quinn. The Caseing The Catty team have another series of inspiring projects from this section.

CTC139_300717

This week, I decided to go out on my own using stamps from this section. It’s the “This Little Piggy” stamp set. I created this card for my class this month and the girls loved it. Inspiration came from a card created with my gorgeous upline, Simone. Here it is.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, This Little Piggy

What I wanted to show my class girls with this project, was another way to use outline stamps if they didn’t feel like colouring them. Simply stamping on colour cardstock, or even Designer Paper, is a way to add instant colour without doing the colouring yourself. There are some really lovely examples of this technique out there in the social media space.

Here I have used the Colour Theory Designer series paper stack, focussing on that yummy ombre style side. I embossed this with the Star Burst embossing folder – and what I really like is the effect that creates. Being a printed paper means the core is white and so when you emboss it like this, the surface can break a little revealing some of the core white and it can create an amazing effect – I’ll be back with some more ideas with this another time.

Over the top, is a layer of whisper white punched from the Lots of Label framelit dies. The feature image is adhere over the top of this with dimensions.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, This Little Piggy

I created the feature image by simply stamping my little piggy in Basic Black Archival ink on to some Whisper White and Powder Pink cardstock. The Whisper White piece I used for my base and punched out my piggy using one of the circles the Stitched Shapes framelits. I coloured in some grass with some Old Olive ink and set it aside.

Next I fussy cut my little piggy out from the Powder Pink one and simply adhered him over the top of the stamped image on the Whisper White and presto instant colour.

I added in a Powder Pink flag behind the feature image. For the sentiment, I added in the “says” from another stamp in that set, using the Stamp-a-ma-jig (stamp positioning tool). This allowed me to have the sentiment read as one sentence, once I added my Happy Birthday.

CTC-Next

Next up in the hop is the lovely, Mel Pagano. Continue to hop through the teams inspiration, then hop over to our Facebook Challenge group and upload your project from this section. You have until 7pm next Sunday, August 6th to enter.

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
rosepacker-signoff

What I used to make this:

14 thoughts on “CTC139 – Everyday Occasions

Leave a Reply

