CTC144 – Quilted Christmas

CTC-BlogBanner2

So this post begins with a funny little story, especially if you just joined me from Julia. If you are starting here with me, but don’t want to miss the fun, jump back over to Julia and start there. Otherwise… welcome to the first week of caseing the 2017 Holiday catalogue. The crew are starting with caseing the Quilted Christmas suite, which features on pages 14 and 15.

So onto the story… they say no two crafters come up with the same project. Well I can tell you, this is not entirely true. Naturally the crew prepare for these hops earlier in the week and we share our projects amongst each other. So when Julia posted her gorgeous project of the Pizza box and Notecards, I laughed as it was almost identical to the one I had planned out for this hop. Now… could you imagine coming from Julia’s blog with her Pizza box and cards, to mine with Pizza box and notecards! Lucky I saw it earlier enough to change my project to this…..

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up! Quilted Christmas suite

My inspiration came from the little notecard project on the right, in the catalogue.

Holiday17_p14b

So how did I get to this creation from this idea? I hear you ask… well it was all about the small little square size of that cute paper. I was thinking about the paper in 2” square sizes as I was flicking through the Quilted Christmas paper stack when I really started to take note of the patterns within the designs. That’s when I decided one pack is not going to be enough….

So I settled on the same design in two different colours. I cut 2 ½” squares and created a square card base to match, from thick Whisper White cardstock. I adhered the squares in place, alternating the patterns.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up! Quilted Christmas suite

I created a medallion element for the top from one of the framelits and Silver Foil. I added some Silver Metallic thread to the back before adhering to Real Red cardstock. I punched a square from the Stitched Shapes framelits in Garden Green and adhered it on the angle to create a diamond. I topped it off with a sentiment from the Cookie Cutter Christmas stamp set.

Next up in the hop is Sandra Collett. Hop on over and check out her inspiration.

CTC-Next

We’d love you to join in on the challenge of drawing inspiration from the Quilted Christmas Suite from the Holiday catalogue, so show us what you create this week. Load up your creations to our Facebook Challenge group by 6pm next Sunday, 10th September.

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
rosepacker-signoff

What I used to make this:

6 thoughts on “CTC144 – Quilted Christmas

  1. ooooh I LOVE your card!! I’m so glad you had to come up with another idea because this is fabulous, and so perfect for showing off these GORGEOUS papers and patterns. And, yes, that is such a funny story…. we obviously have GREAT taste in projects Rose!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol. Cannot believe that has happened! But your project is absolutely gorgeous Rose. Glad you had to come up with something different!

    Like

  3. Lovely card Rose, funny story too – has happened to me more than once, although I don’t tend to check the other crew’s creations until I am done. Sometimes the same inspiration project can lead us in such different directions 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Rose – I feel a little sad you decided you needed to make something else – but only a little – because this is an awesome card which we nearly missed out on! Choosing one paper from the stack is so hard – love how the 2×2 pieces show off several all at once!

    Like

Leave a Reply

