CTC145 – Merry Little Christmas

CTC-BlogBanner2

The Merry Little Christmas Suite is the focus this week at Caseing The Catty. Welcome if you have just joined me from Julia or if you are starting here with me. Lots of great ideas are in store for you on this hop.

Turns out, this suite has created some controversy. Seems to me that people either love it or they don’t. Not much happens in between. Except for me… true to my Libran star sign, I’m balanced – there is a lot to love about this suite, so many lovely embellishments and accessories for whole range of projects. It is just missing red for me… and I think that is a common thing for a lot of people. I find that an easy fix, so I’m calling this “Just add Red” suite.

This suite focusses on providing options to create lovely packaging for gift giving this season, so my inspiration came from the “Just for you” packaging in the clear acetate box.

Holiday17_p04a[part]

Taking a look at the individual elements – there was some of that lovely Merry Music Specialty Designer Series Paper inside used as wrapping, a wrap-around with the trees punched out, the black striped DSP and the Twine wrapped around and tied off holding the tag in place.  Here is what I created.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up! Merry Little Christmas suite

As you can see, I started with my “just add red” approach, starting with a Cherry Cobbler card base, I topped that with some Merry Music Specialty paper. I created a band of trees to stretch across my card. I punched the trees from Old Olive and backed it with some Always Artichoke. When I adhered these pieces together, I wanted to create some shadowing, I thought about sponging the Artichoke cardstock, but then I decided to try this instead… I used Multipurpose liquid glue to adhere the bottom half and some Mini Dimensionals to adhere the top, resulting in the shadow at the top of the trees.

I added some of that yummy Black & White striped ribbon over the top of my trees, in place of the DSP and wrapped some double-stitched ribbon in Cherry Cobbler around the whole band before I adhered it onto my card base.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up! Merry Little Christmas suite

Whilst I really like the Merry Little Labels stamp set that coordinates with the Everyday Label punch in this set, I’m totally in love with another stamp set in the Holiday Catalogue that also coordinates with this same punch…. It’s the Labels to Love stamp set.

Here I have used one of the Christmas stamps in that set and coloured it using the Cherry Cobbler and Old Olive Markers, which I think, creates a much more interesting and cohesive look.

I topped off the label with some holly from the Carols of Christmas stamp set, punched with the coordinating Card Builder framelit set. Simple but effective.

Next up in the hop is Rachel Palmieri.

CTC-Next

Continue your hop and then head over to our Facebook page and join the challenge. We’d love to see what you create. Join in by next Sunday, 17th. Entries close at 6pm.

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
rosepacker-signoff

What I used to make this:

12 thoughts on “CTC145 – Merry Little Christmas

  1. Lovely card, Rose. The shadowing of the Artichoke behind the trees is so clever! Love the addition of the Cherry cobbler. I am off to redesign my cards with a splash of red!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

