Colour INKspiration’s 3rd Birthday

colink-blogbanner-v3

Happy 3rd Birthday to Colour INKspiration –  #CI70. Can you believe it’s been 3 years already? I hope you have been enjoying all the hops along the way. Welcome if you are joining me here, or if you have hopped over from Nikki Spencer.

We are celebrating this milestone with a special hop of current and past Colour INK Crew members. The theme is Birthdays and we each chose our own combination of three colours to create and I can tell you… settling on just one combination is really hard. But for my colour palette, I settled on my all time favourite….. drum roll….  Coastal Cabana, teamed up with Lovely Lipstick and Highland Heather.

CI70 - Birthday Hop

Like many other Stampin’ Up! demonstrators, I’m pretty much hooked on the Peaceful Poppies suite. If you are feeling like you are seeing it everywhere, I don’t blame you. It’s been hugely popular. It’s made up of two bundles – Painted Poppies which has all the imagery and Peaceful Poppies with has the sentiments; and has bunch of amazingly coordinated products to go with them. So many of the projects seen online have been in Black, White and Red.

However, Poppies come and in a range of colours and so I wanted to give them a different look with my chosen colours. Here is my card…

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, Peaceful Poppies, Ornate Frame dies

I water coloured the background with my aqua painter using Coastal Cabana ink onto some Shimmery White cardstock. After allowing that to dry, I stamped the group of poppies stamp in Memento Black ink, and using Highland Heather and Lovely Lipstick Stampin’ Blends, I set about colouring them in. I used the light and dark shades of the markers separately, rather than blending this time. This allowed for different shades of poppies.

Rose Packer, Creative Roses, Stampin' Up!, Peaceful Poppies, Ornate Frame dies

I covered the bottom edge of the Shimmery White cardstock with some of the tri-colour ribbon. I used Tear and Tape to adhere to the card base which is Thick Whisper White cardstock.

I finished off with a Happy Birthday sentiment, which is from the Lovely Lady Bug stamp set, an exclusive SAB Host reward. I stamped this in Coastal Cabana ink on to some Whisper White cardstock. I used two different dies from the Ornate Frames dies set to punch and create the side decorations.

Next up in the hop is Tanya Bell.

ColINK-NEXT-v3

Once you have enjoyed all the amazing inspiration in this hop, it’s your turn to choose your favourite 3 Stampin’ Up! colours to create a Birthday card with. Then pop over to our Facebook Challenge group and load up your creation using your favourite colours. This challenge is open until February 10th. Look forward to seeing you over on the group.

Until next time… Stamp Creatively,
RosePacker-SignOff

  1. Bronwyn Eastley
  2. Patrice Easton
  3. Nicole Wilson
  4. Narelle Farrugia
  5. Lou Kitzelman
  6. Jackie Noble
  7. Julia Quinn
  8. Chloe Evans
  9. Denita Wright-Smee
  10. Kelly Kent
  11. Vicki Boucher
  12. Jan Clothier
  13. Cathy Pinchbeck
  14. Leonie Stuart
  15. Nikki Spencer
  16. Rose Packer  ← You are here!
  17. Tanya Bell
  18. Rebecca Scurr
  19. Monique Fielder
  20. Jackie Aitken
  21. Elizabeth Gross
  22. Rachel Palmieri

Click to shop these supplies:

17 thoughts on “Colour INKspiration’s 3rd Birthday

  1. The wash in the background really sets off the gorgeous poppies! AND don’t they look sweet in other colours! Gorgeous greeting too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. what a bright and beautiful colour combo. Love your background wash to set up the poppies as a feature. And your ornate frame under the sentiment is perfect

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.